History of the Old Quay House

The picturesque town of Fowey is rich in heritage, and has sat at the centre of some of history’s great events.

The first inhabitants of Fowey can be traced back to the early 1300s, with the town playing host to the Fowey Gallants pirates during the 14th century, acting as a base for the Earl of Essex’s Parliamentarian army amid the English Civil Wars, and featuring as a launch site for the US 29th Division who landed on Omaha Beach on D-Day towards the end of World War II.

The Old Quay House is not short on history either. The seafront building was built in 1883, as the town’s harbour began to expand during the industrial revolution, and was originally designed as a sailors rest.

For 60 years it sheltered fishermen and voyagers returning from the sea, until the building was converted into a Bed & Breakfast. From the mid 20th century, The Old Quay House remained as a B&B until it was given a much needed refurbishment and extension in 2004 to become the award-winning hotel and restaurant it is today.

We’ve been trawling through our photographic archives recently, and have found some fantastic images of the hotel from various points in the past. Make sure to scroll down for a trip through memory lane…